Juno Records: Plastik People Review

With previous contributions to split releases on Plastik People on his collar, Marc Cotterell now steps up with Music is our mission, his full debut release for the label. Lead track “For those we love” gives shouts to the greats of house music past & present thanks to the presence of vocalist Tears of Velva – a previous collaborator with Kerri Chandler – and key player Slikk Tim who previously appeared on a Plastik People release from Playin’ 4 The City. “Layla” takes on a more personal approach, dedicated to Cotterell’s daughter, and this is echoed in the music where smooth strings and old school organs duel with the heavy drums and bassline. Finally “Let Yourself Go” is a deep, yet moody sax track featuring highly respected musician, Dave Mullen aka Mahoney, which incorporates tough drums, killer sax and old school house chords that build and build.